Beauty: Benefit ‘They’re Real! Big Sexy Lip Kit’ Review

Hello, you!lipkit1
It was my birthday on the 1st April and if you’ve read my previous review, you’ll know I was gifted some beautiful bits. Benefit’s ‘They’re Real! Big Sexy Lip Kit’ was one present I couldn’t wait to use as Benefit is one of my favourite brands. The kit features four of their brand spankin’ new ‘Double The Lip’ all-in-one lipstick and liner. I’ll always be reviewing makeup using the the three P’s (Packaging, Product, Price) to break down my opinions on the specifics.

Packaging
The product comes in a simple cardboard box that has a dark grey border (with cute little lips printed on it) and a lighter silver square placed in the centre. The design is simple and emphasises the text which is grey and orange – the same style as the ‘They’re Real! Mascara‘. Once open, a how-to guide can be found which gives details on the lipsticks and thlipkitgife performance statistics. Little booklets like this are common practise for Benefit and are a perfect way of introducing the product to every skill type. The cosmetic container itself is a hard shell case which has the same design as the outer box. When the lid is flipped open, the four lipsticks are revealed; each sit in a moulded holder so they’re secure and can’t move about. Whilst I don’t find the packaging particularly wowing (where’s the sparkles at?) it remains true and recognisable to the very popular ‘They’re Real!’ collection.

Product
These lipsticks promise a lot – they’ve got built in liners, claim to last ‘8 hours‘ and give you ‘visibly fuller, sexier lips instantly‘. These all-in-one lippy liners are innovative and won’t disappoint. What’s great about kits like this is that you’re able to try a variety of fun-size shades (although these are massive for minis) before investing in your favourite…

lipkit4
Swatched in opposite order to list
  • ‘Flame Game’ – coral lipstick with red liner
  • ‘Pink Thrills’ – bright pink lipstick with plum liner
  • ‘Revved-Up Red’ – hot pink lipstick with red liner
  • ‘Lusty Rose’ – soft rose pink with mauve liner

Each shade is highly pigmented and the swatches are all just one swipe (yay for intense colour!). These babies glide on like a dream and their tear shape helps guide the product, especially round the Cupid’s Bow which can often be a tricky area. They’re really hydrating and leave my lips feeling soft and moisturised – the creamy formula is a refreshing change from the drying glow 4mattes I usually use. The liner definitely emphasises around the lips but I think it takes a few applications to really perfect the look and make your lips look bigger. I personally don’t think the product lasts 8 hours like Benefit claims but I’m always reapplying lippy so that doesn’t bother me at all. My favourite from the set is ‘Lusty Rose’ (which I’m wearing in this lil selfie) and I love the range of colours in the selection. They can complement a natural or dramatic look – so flexible in how they can be worn, giving you a lot of choice!

Price
This Lip Kit costs £25.50 which I think is a fair price for four beautiful all-in-one lipsticks and liners. Whilst advertised as ‘fun-sized’, the lipsticks are far from mini samples and will last a long time. Each of these weighs 0.75g (half the weight of the full-sized product) so I think that’s a generous amount. As a religious user of Benefit’s ‘They’re Real! Mascara’, I trusted these would be of the same high standard and I was right – you need to invest and a little selection box like this is a great way of doing so. Packaging is also important to factor in with the price and I find Benefit’s containers make for cute trinket boxes once you’re finished with the product/de-potted; this makes them reusable – another big bonus!. The selection, performance and range of this Lip Kit makes the price fair and affordable.

Benefit have really upped their game this year with so many product releases out at the moment. There’s so many new bits I want to try out, especially the Hoola Lite bronzer – it looks perfect for pale girls like me. What are your Benefit faves? I’d love to hear…

Yours,
Peaches

Leave a Reply

